I didn’t blog through the hysterectomy like I promised, and here’s why.

Hello friends.

I know, I said that I would blog through the hysterectomy process and share it with you, but it got a little too scary, and a LOT too personal to blog through when I was dealing with things. My hysterectomy did not go as planned in July. I had a reaction to the anesthetic, and went into respiratory distress in the OR. Once that was sorted, the procedure began, but my bowel was affixed to my abdominal wall and was punctured. My wonderful GYN consulted a GI surgeon, and they were able to suture the bowel, but that was the end of the surgery that day. I spent several days in the hospital, and three very dicey months of recovery before we could attempt the hysterectomy again. I won’t go into too many of the details here, because they still scare me a bit, but I am alright now!

My hysterectomy was rescheduled for November 19th, and this time went beautifully. There were no complications with the anesthesia, the surgery, or, as far as I know, with the recovery. My follow up visit is this Tuesday, and I will let you know then if all is well.

Please forgive me for not sharing the experience with you. It just got VERY upsetting, and I didn’t even acknowledge how bad it was until well after the second attempt at the surgery.

4 thoughts on “I didn’t blog through the hysterectomy like I promised, and here’s why.

    • I will post more about it at some point (hopefully soon?). If I don’t, remind me! I do want to share my experience, good and otherwise!. I just need a little time to process how to write down the tricky parts for me. It’s hard for me to get online and say “things are bad, I nearly died” and then just move on. But I’ll do it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It might be therapeutic for you … even if it’s somewhat painful to relieve it. It might be helpful for someone else out there — the realism of the situation.

        Again, I’m sorry you had to experience this. Sometimes experiences like these can make people develop anxiety about future surgeries.

        I work in pre-surgical nursing and deal with anesthesia issues and anesthesiologists on a daily basis. Please be sure to get a copy of your anesthesia records (should be 2-3 pages only) so that you can provide this information for any future surgery.

        Best of luck to you! Happy New Year! And I do look forward to hearing more about your actual healing process,

        Hugs,
        Elizabetcetera πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • This surgery was BEAUTIFUL. I am a little in love with my anesthesiologist. I want to say the most recent surgery – the SUCCESSFUL hysterectomy (total laparascopic with tubes) – was reproductive organ surgery #17 (I have previously relished adding “AND FINAL!” to the end of that, but I have a vaginal vault prolapse, and I may require another one. Ugh.). I have ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS had emergence dysphoria, with one exception. And I mean ALWAYS. I had it with eye surgery in middle school and when I had my wisdom teeth removed in high school. We figured it was just always a thing. But I did NOT have it with my resection and reconstruction in 2005. July was the first time I had any other anesthesia issues.

        So, as soon as we started the process of rescheduling the hysterectomy, I got on the phone with my now-retired previous surgeon’s practice and the hospital where I had the three of the last five procedures, and I got my anesthesia records in advance of this one.

        And then the day came, and I met my hero. This anesthesiologist was so thorough and compassionate with me. I love him so much. He talked me through EVERYTHING. He was actually the anesthesiologist at the last surgery too, so he remembered exactly what happened. He used a different sedative this time, because I have a deep fear of versed and wondered if it might have contributed to the respiratory distress. But ALSO, he gave me breathing treatments before, during, and after surgery, and gave me a very mild sedative coming into recovery to help with the emergence dysphoria. He ALSO made sure that my mother would be allowed into recovery BEFORE I was awake AND that I would be reclined but not laid all the way back so I could look around and see my surroundings easily when I was waking up.

        I wish I knew his name. I am so thankful for him. He very realistically saved my life during the first attempted hysterectomy, and he made my experience with the second attempt very gentle and safe – physically and emotionally.

        With so many surgeries under my belt (ha! I see what I did there!), I guess I am very fortunate to have had as FEW complications as I’ve had, really.

        Like

Leave a Reply

