52 Week Home Organization Challenge

organized-home-challenge-adI know you’ve seen this one. It’s gone viral a few times now. I think by now it’s probably a mommy blogger staple. It’s the 52 Weeks to an Organized Home plan and challenge by Home Storage Solutions 101. At the beginning of 2014, I TOTALLY started off trying to do this. It didn’t take. You either? GREAT! No time like the present to start over, right?

So look, here’s my failing every season (not every year, because I don’t do these things just in January. I loathe New Year’s Resolutions, and firmly resolve to make none.) (Yes, I did just say that.): I get these grand ideas, and then I try to run with ALL THE PLANS. Because THAT ever works, right? If at first you don’t succeed, try doing forty-seven things AT ONCE! Make sure they’re all BRAND NEW THINGS! And make them REALLY DETAILED AND INVOLVED. That’s TOTALLY the ticket to success right?

Not according to my therapist. You know the one? I need her because I do the same thing every. single. season. without. fail. I am an underachieving overachiever. I need to quit that and become an overachieving slacker. That would be SO much nicer.

Seriously though, I did stick very diligently to a great housekeeping schedule til surgery #1 happened in July. I was almost back into it when surgery #2 happened in November. Right now, I am trying to get the house clean enough for surgery #3, and then maintain from there as we wait to see if surgery #4 is going to be a necessity. I REALLY want to do this 52-week challenge though.

So here’s my goal, if not my plan. The genius at Home Storage Solutions has given us a great pdf file of the areas to organize each week, dated each Monday. I am going to start my week on the Tuesday before, and think of those dates as “due dates,” rather than as start dates. That means that today is the beginning of  week one: Kitchen Countertops and Sink.

So, anyway, I am in for this. Will you join me? I am dubbing this the first of my Organized Tuesdays. My next post (ostensibly) will be a tour of my newly cleaned and somewhat redecorated kitchen, and some before/after shots. I am extra proud of my kitchen. I went on a major cleaning spree in there yesterday, and today, on my personal facebook wall, I posted pictures and exclaimed, “Y’all should have SEEN the catastrophe that was this kitchen when I moved in. You wouldn’t believe me if I told you.” Then I found pictures. Watch this space. You can see the transformation for yourself!

Leave a Reply

